Unite the Union- 3rd Rules Conference -Brighton 24 – 28 June 2019 #UniteRules19




Unite the Union- 3rd Rules Conference -Brighton 24 – 28 June 2019

Unite Rules Conference 1


Final Agenda – Rules Conference 2019 (2)

Follow the conference on social media #UniteRules19


Rules amendments submitted ✅

Delegates elected ✅

Agendas sent to members ✅

Unite Rules conference 2019 begins on Sunday 23rd, Brighton





Process for amendments to rule change 

Following a decision of the Executive Council at their December 2018 meeting, and in accordance with Rule 13 Branches, Regional Committees, Regional Industrial Sector Committees, Area Activist Committees, Regional Equalities Committees, National Industrial Sector Committees and National Equalities Committees are invited to submit one rule amendment.

Accordingly, Regional Officers responsible for Constitutional Committees are requested to bring this communication to the notice of their respective Branch or Committee as early as possible in order to afford them an opportunity of submitting one rule amendment for inclusion in the agenda of the Conference.

The National Retired Members Committee and Regional Retired Members Coordinating Committees may submit one amendment each to the Rules Conference solely pertaining to members in retirement.

Rule Amendments must be sent by email to conference@unitetheunion.org  in Word as well as a PDF of the attached verification form completed and signed by the Regional Officer with responsibility for the Committee which must be sent to arrive no later than 1stMarch 2019.  Rule Amendments arriving after that date will not be placed upon the agenda.

When considering a Rule Amendment, please note the guidance below and also on the enclosed form:

  • Each Branch or Committee may submit 1 (one) Rule Amendment only;
  • Rule Amendments should, wherever possible, amend the text of the existing rules (a copy of the current rule book is available on Unite Connected or from the Regional Team);
  • An amendment to rule will normally add to or delete or amend the written text of a rule;
  • Whether an amendment to rule is in order will be a matter for the Standing Orders Committee.

Following the Conference the Council may amend the wording of specific rule amendments passed at the Conference to ensure that the wording is clear and as far as possible not subject to legal challenge.  Any such amendments would seek to ensure that the essence of the intention of the body submitting the rule amendment motion is honoured.

The rule also provides that any amendments to rule which commits the Union to expenditure must be ratified by the Council before implementation.

Branches will also be invited to submit amendments and Conference will be writing to them early in January.


Unite members from all sectors and all constitutional committees and areas of Unite will be in attendance to debate amend and  change  the rules by a democratic process

Senior lay members from the National Executive Council, National Industrial sector committees, Regional Industrial Sector committees, Retired members committies, Equality committies, LBGTI committees, Youth & Community branch  committees   where elected    reps  and members are put forward to attend


National Executive Committee (NEC)

The following members were elected to serve on the executive council from 1 May 2017 – 30 April 2020. A full list of the 2017-20202 Executive Council can be found below.

Industrial sectors 2017-2020
Sector Members
Automotive Industries John Cooper, Stan Ruddock & Ken Smith
Aerospace & Shipbuilding Phil Entwistle & Tam Mitchell
Chemicals, Pharmaceuticals, Process and Textiles Cliff Bowen
Civil Air Transport Jas Gill, Trudi Lanigan & Nigel Stott
Community Youth workers and not for profit Ruth Hayes
Docks, Rail, Ferries & Waterways Andy Green
Education Philippa Marsden
Energy and Utilities Tim Davison
Engineering, Manufacturing and Steel Howard Turner, Paul Welsh & Tony Pearson
Finance and Legal Lindsey Adams, Dawn Jackson & Fiona Tatem
Food Drink and Agriculture  Donna Donnelly, Neil Durkin & Neelam Verma
Government, Defence, Prisons & Contractors Chris Cadman
Graphical Paper and Media & Information Technology Tom Murphy
Health Suzanne Abachor,  Jasmin Suraya  & Steve Thompson
Local Authorities Dick Banks & Jennifer Elliot
Passenger Transport James Mitchell & Simon Rosenthal
Road Transport Commercial, Warehousing & Logistics Mick Casey & Dave Williams
Service Industries Howard Percival
Unite Construction, Allied Trades and Technicians From former UCATT: Andy Jones, Jamie Bramwell, Stuart Grice & Trevor Simpson
From Unite: Roy Bentham, Frank Morris, Tony Seaman & Joe Pisani
Regions 2017-2020
Region Members
East Midlands Steve Hibbert & June Shepherd
Ireland Noel Gibson & Therese Moloney
London and Eastern Kwasi Agyemang-Prempeh, Richard Allday, Tracy Coxhill & Suzanne Muna
North East, Yorkshire and Humberside Kate Osborne & David Smith
North West Mary Callaghan, Barry Knowles and Tony Woodhouse
Scotland Eddie Cassidy & Ann Crozier
South East Joyce Still & Mark Wood
South West Tracey Blythe & Jayne Taylor
Wales Wendy Gilligan & Alan Reilly
West Midland Julian Allam, Kelly Gillespie & Maggie Ryan
National constituencies 2017-2020
Role Members
National Black or Asian ethnic minority seat Susan Matthews
National women’s’ seat Jane Stewart
National disabled members seat Sean McGovern
National LGBT members seat Jenny Douglas
National Young members seat Alexandra Haworth
EC observers
Observer Name
Retired members’ observer Phil Wiseman
Gibraltar observer Christian Duo

To contact the Executive Council please either send an email  or write care of the general secretary who will forward any post received – Executive Council, c/o General Secretary, Unite the union, Unite House, 128 Theobald’s Road, London, WC1X 8TN. 






Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: